Sliders: The Fourth Season

Posted: March 25, 2008

Slide into an out-of-this-world adventure as all 22 thrilling Season 4 episodes of Sliders land on DVD for the first time ever! Reunite with genius Quinn Mallory (Jerry O’Connell) and his fellow Sliders — Rembrandt (Cleavant Derricks), Captain Maggie Beckett (Kari Wuhrer), and Quinn’s brother Colin (Charlie O’Connell) — as they jump in and out of alternate Earthly realms, battle the ruthless Kromaggs, deal with their tricky doubles, search for their mysterious birth parents, and try to land on the elusive Earth Prime. Accompanying them on various leaps through time and space are spectacular guest stars including Adrienne Barbeau (Escape from New York), Shane West (ER) and Malcolm Jamal-Warner (Jeremiah). It’s an absolute must-have for every sci-fi fan!

March 25, 2008 marked the release of Sliders‘ fourth season on DVD.


Sliders: The Fourth Season comes on five DVDs. Each DVD is has four or five episodes on it, all presented in Dolby Digital 2.0 monaural audio. English subtitles are also provided. The DVDs present the show as it was broadcast; namely, a standard 4:3 (1.33:1) ratio. Total runtime is 994 minutes.

Please note: There are no bonus features of any kind on this box set. All you get when you buy is the 22 fourth season episodes. That’s pretty embarrassing.


The packaging looks great, and it’s finally easy to get to each disc. You slide the cover off and an easy-to-read legend of what appears on each disc available. They actually put some effort into this as there’s a logline for each episode, and accessing each disc is like turning a page in a book. Take care when closing it, however, as the “pages” are ultimately glued to the back cover, and the pages can wedge together, pushing Disc 5’s DigiTray off the glue.

Here is the breakdown of what appears on each disc. Episodes are presented in the order they were intended to air — a first!

Menu System

The Region 1 menu system is a departure from the first two box sets. Instead of shots of the Tesla coil in Quinn’s basement and an overuse of Vienna Extended, viewers are treated to a minimalist menu system. We get the Danny Lux-scored intro music (goodbye, Mark Mothersbaugh), the same font seen on the covers, and a clean vortex effect surrounding episode clips. The clips don’t change from disc to disc (that would take another 5 minutes to create in Final Cut Pro), but it’s a good representation of what you’ll find in the box set.


« »

Comments are closed.